IceCube Collaboration meeting begins in Copenhagen, Denmark

The IceCube Collaboration’s fall 2015 meeting begins today at the Niels Bohr Institute in Copenhagen, Denmark. Assistant Professor Jason Koskinen and Niels Bohr Professor Subir Sarkar of the University of Copenhagen host the weeklong meeting.

“We are pleased to host the IceCube Collaboration here in Copenhagen,” says Koskinen. “It’s an exciting time for the collaboration to get together with the recent Nobel Prize in Physics awarded for the discovery of neutrino oscillations.”

IceCube collaborators will toast their colleagues Prof. Kajita and Prof. McDonald, winners of this year’s Nobel physics prize, to send them sincere congratulations for a well-deserved recognition.

The IceCube Collaboration at the spring 2015 meeting held in Madison, WI. Credit: Zigfried Hampel-Arias, WIPAC

The 200 attendees will discuss data analysis, detector operations, and future extensions of the IceCube Neutrino Observatory. The biannual collaboration meetings provide an opportunity for researchers spread across twelve countries to interact face-to-face.

Local researchers participated in Culture Night on Friday, October 9, a citywide cultural journey where museums, libraries, universities, theaters and more invite the public to behind-the-scenes events. The evening included a showing of Chasing the Ghost Particle and presentations about IceCube science and construction.

Following this meeting, IceCube researchers will participate in the annual Mediterranean-Antarctic Neutrino Telescope Symposium (MANTS) at the University of Amsterdam on October 17-18, with peers from the ANTARES, Baikal and KM3Net collaborations. The four collaborations are partners in the Global Neutrino Network (GNN), a community fostering a closer collaboration and a coherent strategy among the neutrino telescope projects.